Schezwan Gobi Paneer
Schezwan Cabbage Cottage Cheese

My family and I, are not a fan of the traditional Indian way of cooking cabbage, though, it is an extremely healthy way of eating it…Few months back, we were invited for dinner by our friends. There were lots of non vegetarian dishes, but since I am a vegetarian, our friend had made varan (Maharashtrian bland dal which is satvik and made during pujas and festivals, which I absolutely adore and is my comfort food) , bhaat (steamed rice) and schezwan cabbage cottage cheese. This combination was mind blowing and so had to take the recipe from her…

I tried it once at home and my son loved it. I received multiple request from him to make it again, but I either did not have paneer in the kitchen or cabbage. Today I had both hence decided to make it.

I have tweaked the recipe slightly. I have added only cabbage, but you can add carrot in  addition to the cabbage. I have used the store bought schezwan sauce due to lack of time. You can make the same at home as it is very simple and adds to making your meal healthy, due to the control that you have over the ingredients.

Ingredients

1/4 kg cabbage cut length-wise

1/4 kg cottage cheese or paneer cubed

1 onion cut length-wise

2 tsp soy sauce

1 tsp vinegar

1 tsp chilly sauce (optional)

3 -4 tbsp schezwan sauce

1 tsp cumin seeds

salt

oil

Method

  1. In a bowl, take cubed paneer / cottage cheese.
  2. Add 1 tbsp of schezwan sauce, 1/2 tsp of vinegar and salt.
  3. Marinate it for 15 minutes.
  4. Shallow fry the marinated pieces and keep aside.
  5. In a wok, heat some oil. Add cumin seeds.
  6. Once the seeds splutter, add onions.
  7. Once the onions turn translucent, add cabbage.
  8. Add soy sauce, vinegar, chilly sauce and schezwan sauce.
  9. Stir well and let the cabbage cook.
  10. Once the cabbage is almost done, add salt and schezwan paneer and stir.
  11. Switch off the heat after 2 minutes.
  12. Serve hot with Dal-rice or with chapatis, paranthas, bread or tortillas
  13. You can make a roll or sandwich out if it and give it for tiffin.
