Crispy fish fry
Surmai Rava Fry

Fish is a staple in the coastal parts of India. It is not only delicious, but healthy too. It is loaded with proteins and Vitamin D. It is also a good source of omega 3 Fatty acids, vital for growth and development.

Being from Goa, fish used to regularly feature in our plate. As a kid, I had a lot of sea food – crab, pomfret, mackerel and clams being my favourite, but gave it up  by the age of 12 when I became a vegetarian. Hence I never learned to cook it too. But when my son was born, the mother in me made me change my stance, and I decided to start cooking non vegetarian food for my son. The last thing I wanted was him going to a restaurant and eating non veg, as there would be no control over the quality and cleanliness. Though my son loves chicken over fish, this is one dish which he absolutely relishes, hence it features regularly in our house…

Level Easy

Ingredients

750 gms Surmai/King Fish/ Seer fish  cleaned and sliced (other fish like Rawas/Indian Salmon or Mackerel can also be used)

3 tbsp ginger garlic paste

Salt

1 tsp turmeric powder

3 tbsp red chilly powder (alternatively one can use fish masala, koli masala etc.)

1/2 cup chopped fresh coriander leaves

Semolina/ Rava for coating ( mix a pinch of salt, turmeric and red chilly powder)

Oil for shallow frying

Method

  1. In a bowl, take the cleaned fish slices. Add ginger garlic paste, salt, chopped coriander leaves, turmeric  and red chilly powder and mix well.
  2. Marinate in the refrigerator for half an hour.
  3. Heat a non stick pan on medium flame. Add oil for shallow frying.
  4. Take the indvdual marinated fish, coat it with spiced semolina on both sides, and place it on the non stick pan.
  5. Let it cook, till the lower side becomes reddish brown. Then flip the side. Add more oil if necessary.
  6. Let the other side also cook till reddish brown and then take it off the flame.
  7. Repeat the process for other slices.
  8. Serve hot with dal rice or fish curry and rice. It also tastes good with chapatis. It can be had stand alone as a snack or a starter along with coriander chutney or ketchup.
