I started making home made butter after I shifted from regular tetra pack milk to raw organic Indian cows milk. I had no idea what to do with all the cream that I was getting from this milk. Pasteurised milk and homogenized toned milk does not give this kind of cream, so I was at a loss… One of my friend suggested, I add it to Chapati aata. It worked very well and the chapatis turned out much softer and delicious. But then having it every day would lead to weight gain! My Mom recommended making butter/makkhan/loni out of it. Initially, I was skeptical on me being able to  pull it off successfully. Though I had seen my Mom make it during my childhood, I had lots of doubts and queries.  My mom finally managed to convince me and imagine my delight when I finally got pure home made butter!!

Then arose the question of what do I do with so much butter! My son and I both love it, especially wih thalipeeth, but again can’t have too much! So then my Mom taught me how to make desi ghee/ clarified butter from it, the recipe for which will be uploading shortly.The satisfaction that I got from this experiment was totally worth it! Not only does my family get pure and organic milk, butter and ghee made from Indian cows milk  ( do read about A1  and A2 gene in different type of cows, Indian cow has A2 gene which is healthier unlike the HF and Jersey cows used by most big milk brands in India) but also turns out to be very cheap  (was paying Rs. 1250 for 500 gm of organic desi ghee)

You can use this butter on parantha, rotis, chapatis, thalipeeths or use it to make ghee. You can also use this butter for your baking adventures as I do 🙂, infact my adventure into baking (cakes, cookies, breads) started thanks to this excess butter, as there was only so much that I could use for ghee and rotis… The left over butter milk can be used for making ragi rava onion instant dosa or can be had plain or spiced…

Level Easy

Ingredients

Cream of full fat milk collected over 7 days

2 tbsp Curd as starter

Method

  1. Take 2 tbsp of curd in a closed container. Let this container be refrigerated at all times.
  2. After you boil full fat milk, let it cool and then refrigerate it. After few hours you will see a thick layer of cream.
  3. Gently remove this cream and add it to the container which has curd.
  4. Repeat this process for around 7 days. Collect cream from the milk that you boil everyday and keep on adding to the container.
  5. Once substantial cream has been collected, it is time to churn it to separate butter and butter milk.
  6. For churning, you can use the traditional method of hand churning, or use a hand blender, mixer or food processor. The gadgets make it simpler and faster.
  7. Take this chilled curdled cream mixture in a big bowl. Add some cold water and churn it using any of the above method, till you see the butter separating and forming a mass. Initially it will be grainy, but you have to continue till it forms a mass.
  8. Gently take this butter out and store it in another closed container. Wash it with fitered water before storing to increase the life span. If you would be using it within few days, just refrigerate, if using over a longer duration, freeze it.
  9. This butter can be served with paranthas, rotis, thalipeeth or spread on bread instead of using store bought butter. It tastes quite n…
  10. The leftover buttermilk or chaas or taak can be had as is, or spiced. It can also be used for making ragi rava onion instant dosa.
