It is that season of the year, when fresh juicy carrots are in abundance. We can just have them plain in the form of salads, or toss it in veggies and rice or make a dessert out of it. Since I made mawa few days back, I decided to make Gajar halwa. Was also visiting my Dad, and thought this would be a nice non-fussy way to get carrots into his system. Though my hubby is not a fan of gajar halwa, he eats this version which I make. As far as my son and I go, we love all sweets, period 🙂.

If the mawa is ready, it takes about half an hour to 45 minutes, thanks to all the gadgets that we have handy.

Level Easy

Ingredients

1 kg carrots , peeled and grated ( you can grate it the old fashioned way by hand, or use gadgets like food processor, chopper. It comes out beautifully in a chopper too, I have used the chopper and you will not notice the difference)

11/2 cups sugar

1 cup milk

200 gm mawa

2 tbsp ghee

1 tsp cardamom powder

Dry fruits like raisins, almonds, cashew nuts  etc ( I did not add any, as I was making for my Dad)

Method

  1. In a non stick pan heat ghee. Add grated carrots and saute for 5 minutes.
  2. Add dry fruits and saute along with the carrots. Alternatively, you can saute the dry fruits in ghee first, remove, and add it at the final stage.
  3. Add milk and cook the carrots for 5 minutes. Then add sugar and cook further.
  4. Once the ghee starts oozing out from the sides, add mawa and cook for few minutes.
  5. Add the cardamom powder, mix well and switch off the flame.
  6. Serve either hot or chilled. Tastes good either ways.
