These puris have nostalgic value. When we were kids, we used to make a schedule of snacks that we would like to have over the coming week, and my Mom would diligently follow it and keep it ready for us when we came from school. We were not allowed to eat any outside food ( read street-side), and whatever we felt like eating, my Mom used to make it at home.

We used to have cravings for chaats very often. So one day of the week was reserved for chaat. Whenever there used to be sev puri on the list, my Mom used to make these puris in advance. But these puris were so tasty, we used to devour it as is 🙂

I had completely forgotten about them, untill few days back, when I made sev puri with store bought puris. I was telling my hubby about how my sister and I used to help my Mom make these puris. I must confess, I was never a great help in the kitchen. The only job that I used to do, was to prick these puris with a fork 🙂 I was raving about these puris to my hubby, when he asked me when he would get to taste them. That was when I decided to make them for my next batch of sev puri…

Level Easy

Ingredients

2 cups semolina

Salt

1 tbsp Oil for kneading and oil for frying

Water

Method

  1. In a bowl, take semolina, salt and oil. Mix well.
  2. Add water slowly and knead into a semi-hard dough.
  3. Allow it to rest for 30 minutes.
  4. Again knead it well and make  round balls. Roll them like a chapati.
  5. Use a small round cutter to cut into small round discs of diameter 4-5 cms.
  6.  Make holes with a fork all over the puri.
  7. Let them dry lightly, by just letting them be.
  8. Heat oil in a kadai and once the oil is hot, fry these puris on low flame till light golden.
  9. Drain on an absorbent paper.
  10. Once they cool, store in an airtight container.
  11. These puris can now be used for making sev puri, dahi papdi chaat or bhel.
  12. You can have them as is with tea too, as they serve as a good tea time snack.
  13. For tea time snack, you can flavour them further, by adding ajwain ( carrom seeds), chilly flakes or coarsely crushed black peppper.
