Ghee was always made at home when I was small. I used to consume it the most as I loved it, I still do. Since I was skinny, I could afford to have my Chapatis soaked in ghee. Unfortunately, today I have to watch what I eat. I have not eliminated it from my diet completely, but I can’t have my chaps coated with ghee anymore 😦 My son also loves it hence his chaps are made in ghee. It is very easy to make and it doesn’t require constant supervision. You just need to stir it in between and keep it on low flame. It is always advisable to make ghee at home, as the store bought ones can be adulterated.

Ghee has may health benefits, especially the home made ones. To get health benefits, the source of milk also makes a difference. Since I use organic Indian cows milk, I get the butter of A2 milk, which I use for making ghee. Ghee, if had in moderation, protects us from a hosts of diseases, hence one should not eliminate it completely.

Level Easy

Ingredients

Home made butter or makkhan

Method

  1. Melt butter in a vessel, by keeping it on low flame. Ghee should alway be made on low flame to avoid burning.
  2. It does not require constant supervision, just occassional stirring.
  3. The butter will first melt, to form a white liquid.
  4. Then the butter will froth up, so just keep an eye and stir.
  5. Keep on heating, and then the liquid will start becoming transparent. It will turn golden.
  6. Also, there will be some granules, floating at the top. At this stage, switch off the flame.
  7. Once it cools down a bit, strain using a metal strainer.The residue which is collected, you either discard, or if it is not burnt, one can use it for kneading dough.
  8. Cool down completely and then store in a clean container, preferably glass.
  9. You can also add tulsi leaf while heating the butter.
  10. You can use this ghee for your chapatis or dals. It can also be used for making Indian sweets like gajar halwa, mysore pak, jalebis, gulab jamuns etc.
