Whenever I make a dish involving boiled potatoes or Chickpeas, I always boil more than I need, so that I can use the extra for my sons’ tiffin the next day. The possibilities including either of the ingredient are numerous. It just needs a bit of planning. When I was boiling chana, the previos day, I also added some boiled potatoes. Once boiled, I removed the potatoes and extra chana in a separate bowl (without the water) and refrigerated it for next day. Refrigerating also helps in making both these ingredients dry, which helps in easy formation of tikkis. If there is water then tikkis will not get formed and one will have to add binding agents like cornflour, besan or bread which will alter the taste. Not that it tastes bad, but the difference is evident…

It can be served with ketchup or served as a chaat by adding yogurt, corainder-mint chutney and tamarind chutney. For tiffin, one can also make a chapati wrap with these tikkis and add some veggies like lettuce, grated cabbage and carrot. I dont need any of the accompaniments and I can have it standalone as it is extremely delicious.So here is my recipe for Chole Tikki….

Level Easy

Ingredients

1 cup boiled  and coarsely mashed Kabuli Chana 

1 cup boiled and mashed potatoes

1/2 tbsp ginger paste

1 tsp cumin seeds

Salt to taste

1/2 tsp ground peppper

1/2 tbsp chole masala 

1 finely chopped green chilly

1/2 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 cup chopped coriander leaves

Oil to shallow fry

Method

  1. In a bowl take the peeled and mashed boiled potatoes, and coarsely mashed boiled Kabuli Chana.
  2. Add all the herbs and spices and mix well.
  3. Make 1/2 inch thickness circular discs
  4. Heat oil in a pan or tawa. Place the tikkis on the hot tawa and cook on both sides till it becomes golden brown.
  5. Serve hot with ketchup or pudina and tamarind chutney.

Tip: If one likes the tikki crispy or if it becomes a wee bit mushy, one can also coat it with semolina and roast it. It gives a nice crispy texture as well as helps in maintaining the shape.

