Beetroot is one of the healthiest veggie, but to make your family eat it, is a task 🙂 . I can even manage to make my little one eat it as a salad, but not my better half…the days I am hell bent in making my hubby eat it, I have to devise techniques like this…

I had beetroot lying in my refrigerator and hence decided to make cutlets out of it. Turned out to be quite yummy, got a compliment from dear hubby too…we had it for breakfast and packed some in my little ones tiffin

These cutlets can be had as is, with ketchup or green chutney (I didnt need any accompaniment, it was that yummy…) or if one is looking for something heavier, roll it in chapati or parantha, add some mayonnaise and shredded veggies like cabbage  or lettuce and have it as a frankie. These cutlets can also be rolled into semolina to make them crispy. I did not, as I wanted to make it more like a tikki than cutlet. If one has leftover shredded carrot or beetroot, that can also be converted into these cutlets or tikkis

Level Easy

Ingredients

4 boiled and mashed potatoes

1 grated or minced medium sized boiled beetroot

1 grated or minced carrot

1 cup rinsed poha rested for few minutes

Salt

1/2 tbsp cumin powder

1/2 tbsp coriander powder

1 tsp red chilly powder

1 tsp turmeric powder

1 tsp garam masala (optional) 

1-2 tsp chaat masala

Oil for shallow frying 

Method

  1. In a bowl, add all the above ingredients except oil.
  2. Mix well. Make small balls and flatten them with your palms. While doing so, grease your fingers and palms with oil
  3. Heat a pan and shallow fry these tikkis or cutlets till brown from both sides.
  4. Serve hot with ketchup or curd and mint chutney.

Tip: If one likes them crispy, just roll these cutlets or tikks in semolina and shallow fry.

